top of page

How to get what you want in the workplace

When I was younger I used to get on food trucks towards the end of the day and ask them if they had any leftover food that I could eat, completely for free. limited budget, but I ended up noticing that I was also curious to see what would happen if only I asked. Sometimes, of course, I had 'no', but more often than you might think the chef would say, 'sure, I have to get rid of this at the end of the day anyway', and shared a little snack or stacked a plate of delicious food.


At the time, I didn't fully realize how much these silly experiences prepared me for what I should be able to do in business. So often in my day as a CEO, there are things that my business wants, but needs, to get ahead and other people or organizations are the key to getting it. to get publicity for an emerging product, a food-for-cash launch party from the trapped organization, and even free conference passes for Muse's first employees.


Even if you don't run a business, you need the things of others to be successful. need a professional contact to introduce you to the company of your dreams.


You may need the experience of someone from the following department to complete a project.


You may need a supplier to make a deal in order to stay within your budget.You understand: Learning to be persuasive, especially in a professional setting, is a skill that continually pays off.


So how do you do it?

There are many different strategies here, but my specialty is finding ways for both parties to achieve what they want, even though the two are not directly related.


For example, let's say you want new software for your team at work, but can't afford the price. Instead of just asking if the company can get you a deal, or assuming they'll say no and throw in the towel, ask yourself if there's anything you can provide in return. If it's a small business, they might trade a testimonial and social media promotion of their product to your business in exchange for a discount.


Likewise, if you need a colleague who takes extra hours to help you with a project, you can offer your experience for a “job exchange”. you always have to give something to create a win-win deal.


Sometimes you just help yourself, other parts help themselves.


Perhaps by helping you in your project, your colleague will gain visibility with his superiors or experience in an area of ​​the company that interested him or maybe interrupt your services to get your business on board, your seller would have his first customer in your area.





7,549 views0 comments

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page